Magellanic penguins along the beach of Isla Martillo, Beagle Channel — photo from a GetYourGuide listing
Ushuaia → Isla Martillo · 54°54′ S 67°23′ W

Ushuaia Penguin Tour

An Ushuaia penguin tour takes you to Isla Martillo, ≈85–90 km east of town, where Magellanic and Gentoo penguins breed. You either walk on the island or watch from a boat. Boat tours from $110 · summer walks among the penguins from $530 (per person, GetYourGuide "from" price).

Our pickLowest price of the 12No landing
The best-value catamaran

The highest-rated of the three most-booked catamarans, with morning and afternoon sailings. It watches the colony from the boat — no landing.

4.6· 363 reviews
5 h in allfrom the Ushuaia tourist pier
$110per personCheck dates

Free cancellation up to 24 hours before, per the listing.

1 hwalking on the island
$110–549per person, "from" prices
Oct–Marpenguin season
≈85–90 kmeast of Ushuaia
Quick answer

The most-booked Ushuaia penguin tours are 5–5.5-hour catamarans from $110 that watch the Isla Martillo colony from the water. Walking among the penguins costs from $530 in summer, takes 7–10 hours and depends on one licensed operator.

  • Only one operator is authorized to land on Martillo; walkers get 1 hour, ≈20 people at a time.
  • The three most-reviewed tours are catamarans at $110–115, 5–5.5 hours, with 1,370 reviews between them.
  • Penguin season runs October to March; November–February is best, and walks run ≈1 Oct–31 Mar.
  • Walk tours pass through Estancia Harberton, which is closed on Tuesdays.
  • The walk has a small daily quota and sells out weeks ahead in peak season.

Source: GetYourGuide listings · Oct 2026; turismoushuaia.com, piratour.net

Every penguin tour price compared

Walk or Boat — Choosing Your Ushuaia Penguin Tour

The walk is the closest, longest and priciest; the catamaran is the cheapest and biggest boat; the small boat is the shortest and closest from the water.

Walk on the island

Walk on the island

7–10hours in all
0 h11 h
Landing
Yes — 1-hour guided walk on marked paths, ≈20 people on the island at a time.
Total time
7–10 hours; summer walks include a bus ride of ≈1.5–2 h each way to Estancia Harberton and a 15-minute speedboat crossing.
From
$530–549 for the two reviewed summer walks; a winter Gentoo-only landing (≈30 minutes ashore, July–mid-September) starts at $450.
Who it's for
The closest encounter, if you have a full day and book early.
What you give up
About 4–5 times the catamaran price, Tuesdays, and most dates from April to September.
Compare the 3 walks among the penguins
Catamaran

Catamaran from the pier

5–5.5hours in all
0 h11 h
Landing
No — the boat follows Martillo's shoreline, and penguins are watched from the deck.
Total time
5–5.5 hours from the Ushuaia tourist pier, with Bird Island, Sea Lion Island and Les Eclaireurs lighthouse on the way.
From
$110–115 for the three most-reviewed boats.
Who it's for
Tight budgets, half-day plans, travelers who prefer a large boat.
What you give up
Distance to the birds and, per traveler reviews, crowding at the viewing points on busy sailings.
Every boat tour compared
Small boat

Small boat or zodiac from Puerto Almanza

4–9hours in all
0 h11 h
Landing
No — one listing says the boat's bow touches the island's edge; another stays ≈40 minutes in front of the colony.
Total time
4–9 hours, with a van ride on RN3 and Ruta J to Puerto Almanza.
From
$123.50.
Who it's for
Small groups (one boat seats 8) who want to be low on the water, close to the colony.
What you give up
A longer road transfer, and most of these tours have few or no reviews yet (0–11), apart from the crab-lunch tour with 79.
Small boats and Almanza tours side by side

Source: GetYourGuide listings · Oct 2026; turismoushuaia.com, piratour.net

Ushuaia Penguin Tour Comparison — 12 Tours Side by Side

Most-booked: catamarans at $110–115, all watching from the boat.

All 12 tours

sorted by number of reviews · "Walk on the island" or "From the boat"
CatamaranMost reviewedThe most-reviewed catamaranMost-reviewed; refund if Martillo is missed · 5.5 h
Not stated by the operator
9 am · 3 pm
From the boat
4.5· 553 reviews
$115per person
CatamaranThe Canoero catamaranPort taxes listed as included · 5 h
Not stated by the operator
9 am · 3 pm
From the boat
4.5· 454 reviews
$115per person
Our pickCatamaranThe best-value catamaranLowest price; morning or afternoon · 5 h
Not stated by the operator
9 am · 3 pm
From the boat
4.6· 363 reviews
$110per person
Walk on the islandThe all-inclusive walkChannel cruise + walk in one ticket · 9.5 h
1 h on the island
8 am
Walk on the island
4.5· 91 reviews
$549per person
Almanza + foodRated 4.9The Almanza crab-lunch tourFishermen's lunch in Puerto Almanza · 7.5 h
Not stated by the operator
9 am · pickup
From the boat
4.9· 79 reviews
$225per person
Walk on the islandThe boat-plus-walk dayBoat trip, then the walk by land · 10 h
1 h on the island
Day runs 8 am - 9 pm
Walk on the island
4.9· 25 reviews
$530per person
CatamaranStep-freeThe accessible catamaranWheelchair and stroller accessible · 5 h
Not stated by the operator
9 am · 3 pm
From the boat
4.6· 19 reviews
$165per person
Small boatThe 8-seat boat from Almanza8-seat boat, 4 hours in all · 4 h
Not stated by the operator
10 am · 2 pm
From the boat
4.5· 11 reviews
$165per person
Small boatThe small-boat tripHeated small boat, hot drink · 100 min
Not stated by the operator
2 pm
From the boat
5.0· 5 reviews
$135per person
Small boatThe 40-minute viewing boat≈40 min in front of the colony · 6 h
≈40 min at the colony
8 am · 2 pm
From the boat
5.0· 2 reviews
$265per person
Full day by boatThe canoe and Gable Island dayCanoe trip + Gable Island, lunch · 11 h
Not stated by the operator
8:30 am · pickup
From the boat
4.8· 2 reviews
$439per person
Full day by boatThe two-boat full day≈30 min at the colony; min. 4 travelers · 9 h
≈30 min at the colony
Not stated
From the boat
5.0· 1 review
$160per person
Hours: GetYourGuide lists 100 minutes; the operator's itinerary adds ≈1.5 h by van each way to Puerto Almanza. For a firm half-day, the 8-seat boat from Almanza lists 4 hours in total.
Two tours show no free cancellation: the boat-plus-walk day and the 40-minute viewing boat. Every other tour here allows free cancellation up to 24 hours ahead.

Source: GetYourGuide listings, advertised "from" prices per person checked Oct 2026 — they can change by date; time near the penguins as each listing states it; departures seen on GetYourGuide date pages.

Check live dates

Which Ushuaia Penguin Tour Fits Your Trip

Start from what matters most to you; each need has one clear match.

Tight budgetThe best-value catamaranThe lowest price among the 12.$110BookRead review
Closest encounterThe all-inclusive walk1 hour on foot inside the colony, plus a channel cruise.$549Book
Food loverThe Almanza crab-lunch tourLunch at a fishermen's restaurant in Puerto Almanza, rated ★4.9.$225Book
Kids or a strollerThe accessible catamaranListed as wheelchair and stroller accessible, with infant seats.$165Book
Small groupThe small-boat tripBilingual naturalist guide, heated boat, hot drink.$135Book
Short on timeThe 8-seat boat from Almanza4 hours in total.$165Book

Source: GetYourGuide listings · Oct 2026

Best Ushuaia Penguin Tour — Top Picks by Reviews

The three most-reviewed tours are catamarans; the most-reviewed walk is the only one in the top four that lands.

Ushuaia: Catamaran Sailing to Penguin Island — photo from the GetYourGuide listingCatamaranMost reviewed
The most-reviewed catamaranThe most-booked option, with a refund if the Martillo visit can't be completed.
Not stated by the operator
5.5 hFrom the boat9 am · 3 pm4.5· 553 reviews
$115per personCheck dates
Ushuaia: Penguin Watching Tour by Catamaran — photo from the GetYourGuide listingCatamaranPort taxes included
The Canoero catamaranPort taxes are listed as included.
Not stated by the operator
5 hFrom the boat9 am · 3 pm4.5· 454 reviews
$115per personCheck dates
Ushuaia: Beagle Channel and Penguin Island — photo from the GetYourGuide listingOur pickCatamaran
The best-value catamaranThe highest rating of the big three, with morning and afternoon sailings.
Not stated by the operator
5 hFrom the boat9 am · 3 pm4.6· 363 reviews
$110per personCheck dates
Ushuaia: Beagle Channel and Penguin Experience All Inclusive — photo from the GetYourGuide listingWalk on the islandNo Tuesdays
The all-inclusive walkThe most-reviewed way to walk among the penguins, with the channel cruise and the walk in one ticket.
1 h on the island
9.5 hWalk on the island8 am4.5· 91 reviews
$549per personCheck dates

Source: GetYourGuide listings · Oct 2026; photos from each tour's listing

Is Ushuaia Penguin Tour Worth It?

Yes, if you book the walk early or accept seeing the penguins from the boat.

Worth it for

Yes: a catamaran from $110 covers 5 hours of the Beagle Channel — sea lions, Bird Island, Les Eclaireurs lighthouse and the Martillo colony.

Yes, if you want to stand among the penguins: the walk gives 1 hour on the island, but book weeks ahead in peak season.

Think twice if

No, if you visit April–September hoping for Magellanic penguins: they're there October to March, early April at the latest; from the boat you'll see Gentoo, which one operator lists year-round.

No, if King penguins are the goal: Martillo has only a handful, seen occasionally.

No, if your only free day is a Tuesday and you want the walk: Harberton is closed, so take a catamaran instead.

The real cost

Walk vs boat: the two reviewed walks start at $530–549, about 4–5 times the $110–115 catamaran.

Extras: Harberton entry is paid separately on the boat-plus-walk day; one source reports a cash port fee of ARS 10,400 at one catamaran operator.

Source: GetYourGuide listings · Oct 2026; nomades.com

Ushuaia penguin tour price for every format

Which Ushuaia Penguins You'll See on an Ushuaia Penguin Tour

Magellanic penguins dominate from October to March; Gentoo stay year-round; King penguins are a rare bonus.

≈4,000Magellanic breeding pairs — CONICET study, 2021. Colony: Isla Martillo, Beagle Channel, opposite Estancia Harberton.
Magellanic · Oct–Mar≈4,000 pairs
Gentoo · all year68 pairs, per one operator
SpeciesWhenOn Martillo
MagellanicOctober to MarchThe most numerous — ≈4,000 breeding pairs, according to a 2021 CONICET study
GentooYear-roundFar fewer — 68 recorded breeding pairs, according to one operator
KingSeen occasionallyA handful — don't book a Martillo tour for them

Source: turismoushuaia.com; CONICET repository 2021; GetYourGuide listings · Oct 2026

The island, its colony and how to reach it

When to Take an Ushuaia Penguin Tour

October to March; best November to February.

JanJanuaryBest monthsboth species on the island, walks running.14 / 5 °C (56 / 42 °F)Walks + boats
FebFebruaryBest monthswalks running until the end of March.14 / 5 °C (56 / 41 °F)Walks + boats
MarMarchSeason winding downwalks end ≈31 March.12 / 5 °C (54 / 40 °F)Walks to 31 Mar
AprAprilLast Magellanic penguins in early Aprilboat tours only.9 / 3 °C (49 / 37 °F)Boats only
MayMayGentoo only, from the boat (one operator lists Gentoo year-round).7 / 2 °C (44 / 35 °F)Boats only
JunJuneGentoo only, from the boat.4 / 0 °C (40 / 33 °F)Boats only
JulJulyGentoo onlyone operator lists a ≈30-minute winter walk.5 / 0 °C (40 / 32 °F)Winter landing
AugAugustGentoo onlysame winter walk, per the operator.6 / 0 °C (42 / 32 °F)Winter landing
SepSeptemberGentoo onlywinter walk until ≈mid-September, then from the boat.8 / 1 °C (46 / 34 °F)Winter landing
OctOctoberSeason openswalks start ≈1 October.10 / 2 °C (50 / 36 °F)Walks from ≈1 Oct
NovNovemberBest months beginboth species, walks running.12 / 3 °C (53 / 38 °F)Walks + boats
DecDecemberBest monthsHarberton closes on 25 December.12 / 5 °C (54 / 40 °F)Walks + boats
bar: daytime high, 0–15 °C
Season dates for 2026-27 are not yet published; check your date in the booking widget.

Source: turismoushuaia.com, piratour.net · Oct 2026; temperatures: Ushuaia Airport 1991–2020 normals (SMN)

Month-by-month penguin calendar

Know Before You Book an Ushuaia Penguin Tour

Six things change plans most often; each has a workaround.
Check live dates
  • Walks sell outThe walk has a small daily quota and sells out weeks ahead in peak season.Instead: If your date is gone, a catamaran still shows the colony from $110.
  • Harberton is closed on TuesdaysWalk tours pass through Estancia Harberton, closed on Tuesdays and on 25 December and 1 January (one operator: 25 December to 2 January).Instead: Sail on a Tuesday instead — boat tours from the pier don't stop at Harberton.
  • Weather and port closuresSailings can be canceled for strong wind or a port closure; listings then offer a full refund or a new date.Instead: Book early in your stay so there's a spare day to rebook.
  • Wind and seasicknessTwo of the main catamaran listings say they're not suitable for people prone to seasickness.Instead: The Almanza crab-lunch tour spends ≈1.5 h of its 7.5 h on the water.
  • Cash for feesOne source reports a cash port fee at one catamaran operator; the Canoero listing includes port taxes, and the boat-plus-walk day charges Harberton entry separately.Instead: Carry some Argentine pesos.
  • Mobility and pregnancyThe walk is not recommended for reduced mobility or pregnancy.Instead: The accessible catamaran is listed as wheelchair and stroller accessible.

Source: c5n.com, estanciaharberton.com, piratour.net; GetYourGuide listings · Oct 2026

Every penguin tour price compared

Ushuaia Penguin Tour for Cruise Days, Kids and Tight Plans

Match the tour to your constraint, not to the rating.

Cruise ship dayThe best-value catamaranA 5-hour catamaran from the pier; the best-value catamaran sails mornings and afternoons.$110BookRead review
Cruise passengers, full-day tripsAvoid The canoe and Gable Island dayThe canoe and Gable Island day states that cruise passengers can't join, and the walks run 7–10 hours.Compare tour hours
Flying out the same dayAvoid The all-inclusive walkAvoid the walks; the all-inclusive walk advises against same-day flights.Compare tour hours
KidsThe accessible catamaranPiratour lists ages 0–2 free and a child rate for 3–11; the accessible catamaran has infant seats.$165Book
Visiting April to SeptemberThe small-boat tripThe small-boat trip lists Gentoo year-round.$135Book
Walk sold outThe 8-seat boat from AlmanzaThe 8-seat boat from Almanza gets close to the shore from the water.$165Book

Source: GetYourGuide listings · Oct 2026; piratour.net

All boat options with times

Ushuaia Penguin Tour Reviews — What Travelers Praise and Criticize

4.51,370 reviews
across the three most-booked catamarans; the walks hold ★4.5 (91) and ★4.9 (25)
Guide4.4
Transportationhighest4.6
Value for moneylowest4.2
05

Source: GetYourGuide reviews and rating breakdowns · Oct 2026; sub-ratings averaged over the three catamarans

“Penguins and seals. Good rotation system so everyone can take a photo”

Kees
November 2025 · The Canoero catamaran

“The tour was canceled twice earlier in the week due to bad weather”

Ebe · Netherlands
February 2026 · The Canoero catamaran

“The boat ride is very long, and the main attraction is covered very quickly”

Traveler

The big catamarans hold ★4.5–4.6 across 1,370 reviews; the two reviewed walks hold ★4.5 and ★4.9.

What travelers praise
  • Crews turning the boat so both sides get photos.
  • Comfortable catamarans and crews wiping rain off the windows.
  • Walk guides who share lots of information about the penguins.
What they criticize — and the fix
  • Crowding on the big boatsChoose a small boat from Almanza for fewer people.
  • Value for money scored 4.0/5 on the all-inclusive walkThe catamaran costs about a fifth.
  • Weather cancellationsKeep a spare day.

Ushuaia Argentina Penguin Tour — Getting to the Pier and Martillo

Catamarans leave from the Ushuaia tourist pier; walks and Almanza boats start with a drive east.

  • Tourist pierAv. Prefectura Naval Argentina — Canoero office at no. 400, Piratour at no. 410.
  • By waterCatamarans sail ≈80 km along the Beagle Channel to Martillo, then return to the pier.
  • By roadRN3, then Ruta J to Estancia Harberton or Puerto Almanza, ≈1.5–2 h each way.
  • DistanceMartillo is ≈85–90 km east of Ushuaia.
  • Pick-upSome tours collect you from your hotel; the boat-plus-walk day expects you at the pier.
  1. 1Ushuaia tourist pier
  2. 2Puerto Almanza small boats
  3. 3Puerto Harberton walk tours
  4. 4Isla Martillo the colony
© OpenStreetMap contributorsOpen in maps

Source: turismoushuaia.com, piratour.net, c5n.com; GetYourGuide listings · Oct 2026; map: OpenStreetMap; coordinates geonames.nga.mil, mapcarta

Walk tours and their meeting points

Ushuaia Penguin Tour FAQ

Can you see penguins in Ushuaia?

Yes — but not in town: the colony is on Isla Martillo in the Beagle Channel, ≈85–90 km east of Ushuaia, opposite Estancia Harberton. Magellanic penguins are there from October to March, with the best months November to February; Gentoo penguins stay year-round, according to one operator. You reach the island on a 5-hour catamaran from the pier, a small boat from Puerto Almanza, or a full-day walk tour that lands on the island. The best-value catamaran.

What do Ushuaia penguin tour Reddit threads say?

Traveler threads and reviews keep repeating three points. First, the walk on Martillo has a small daily quota and sells out weeks ahead in peak season, so book it as soon as your dates are fixed. Second, walks and Almanza boats start with a bus ride of ≈1.5–2 h each way. Third, wind or a port closure can cancel a sailing; listings then offer a refund or a new date. If the walk is gone, the catamaran is the easy fallback. The most-reviewed catamaran.

When is the best time for an Ushuaia penguin tour?

November to February is best; the full season runs from October to March, sometimes into early April. Walks on the island run from about 1 October to 31 March. From April onward, boat tours still run, but you'll mainly see Gentoo penguins, which one operator lists year-round. Season dates for 2026-27 haven't been published yet. The month-by-month calendar.

How much do penguin tours from Ushuaia cost?

Catamarans start at $110–115 per person, small boats from Puerto Almanza at $123.50–320, and summer walks among the penguins at $530–549 (a winter Gentoo landing from $450) on GetYourGuide, as of 14 October 2026. Walking costs roughly four to five times the catamaran price. Some extras sit outside the ticket: Harberton entry on the boat-plus-walk day and, at one catamaran operator, a cash port fee. Every price compared.

Is it better to walk with the penguins or watch from the boat?

Walk if you want the closest encounter and can spend $530+ and 7–10 hours; take a boat if you want half a day for $110–165. The walk gives 1 hour on marked paths with ≈20 people on the island at a time. Boats don't land, but small boats from Puerto Almanza get close to the shore from the water. The all-inclusive walk.

Can kids join a penguin tour in Ushuaia?

Yes, on most tours. Piratour, the walk operator, lists ages 0–2 as free and a child rate for ages 3–11. The accessible catamaran lists infant seats and stroller access; it asks for a passport or ID photo to apply child discounts. The canoe and Gable Island day doesn't allow children under 5 in the canoe. No minimum age for the walk is published in the listings used on this site. The accessible catamaran.

Can you see king penguins from Ushuaia?

Rarely: only a handful of King penguins turn up occasionally on Martillo, so no Martillo tour can promise them. Magellanic and Gentoo penguins are the species you will reliably see. King penguins live at a separate reserve, a ≈12-hour day trip that this site doesn't cover. The species on Martillo.

Are photos allowed on Martillo Island?

Yes, photos are allowed on Martillo; flash and drones are not. The well-known "no photos of penguins" rule belongs to the Penguin Parade at Phillip Island in Australia, not to Ushuaia. On the walk, you stay on marked paths with the guide and keep ≈3 m from the birds. On the big catamarans, travelers report that crews rotate the boat so both sides get a view. The boat-plus-walk day.

Can I do a penguin tour on a cruise ship day?

Yes, if you choose a 5-hour catamaran from the tourist pier; the walks run 7–10 hours. The best-value catamaran sails in the morning and in the afternoon. One full-day tour, the canoe and Gable Island day, states that cruise passengers can't join. Check your all-aboard time against the sailing before you book. The best-value catamaran.

Why do penguin walks not run on Tuesdays?

Walk tours pass through Estancia Harberton, and Harberton is closed on Tuesdays. It also closes on 25 December and 1 January; one operator lists 25 December to 2 January. Boat tours from the Ushuaia pier don't stop at Harberton, so a catamaran is the Tuesday alternative. The Canoero catamaran.

What happens if the weather cancels the tour?

You get a refund or a new date. Listings for the main catamarans say that if a sailing is canceled for bad weather or a port closure, you can take a full refund or rebook, subject to availability. The captain may also change the order of stops. Book early in your stay to keep a spare day. The most-reviewed catamaran.

How far is the penguin colony from Ushuaia?

Isla Martillo is ≈85–90 km east of Ushuaia. By road, it's RN3 then Ruta J, ≈1.5–2 h each way to Estancia Harberton, followed by a 15-minute speedboat crossing for walkers. By water, the catamarans sail ≈80 km along the Beagle Channel to reach the island. The walk day, step by step.

Can you walk among the penguins on your own?

No. Only one operator, Piratour, is authorized to land and walk on Martillo, and walkers stay with the guide on marked paths. Every other tour, including all catamarans, watches from the water. Book a walk tour well ahead in peak season. The all-inclusive walk.

Will I get seasick on the catamaran?

It depends on the wind: two of the main catamaran listings say they're not suitable for people prone to seasickness, and the walks include water time too. The Almanza crab-lunch tour has ≈1.5 hours of sailing in a 7.5-hour day, with the rest by road and on land. The Almanza crab-lunch tour.

Book Your Ushuaia Penguin Tour

Pick your format, then check your date — walks go first. Dates below: the best-value catamaran, from $110 per person (listing price, Oct 2026).

Live dates on GetYourGuide

Free cancellation up to 24 hours before, per the listing. For the walk, see the walking tour page.

This tour
The best-value catamaran
$110 · per person · ★ 4.6 (363)
Compare toursDates